Introduction to Nantes Saint-Nazaire

INTRODUCING NANTES SAINT-NAZAIRE, LAND OF THE BOLD

At a time of stiff competition between regions, Nantes Saint-Nazaire is not just surviving but thriving...
Economic dynamism, accessibility, quality of life, a protected environment, culture and creativity: in all of these areas and more, Nantes Saint-Nazaire offers an embarrassment of riches.


AN XXL METROPOLIS


Take two examples. The first: a 12 metre-tall statue of an elephant sculpted from wood and steel, a popular perch from which to discover Nantes. The second: the launch of the world's largest cruise ship, made in Saint-Nazaire and capturing the headlines of media outlets all over the world. Two 'XXL' images which embody the new dimension which Nantes Saint-Nazaire has entered. The former as a symbol of the dynamic spirit which reigns in the metro area, where the cultural and creative sectors are major growth drivers. The latter as an emblem of the boundless possibilities of naval construction in the Loire estuary, and more broadly the dynamism of a local industrial sector powered by high technology.

Two iconic images which neatly sum up the strengths of the local economy. Nantes Saint-Nazaire has succeeded in preserving its beating industrial heart, with specialist sectors internationally-renowned for their excellence… All while developing a thriving tertiary sector, with a particular focus on digital technologies. Nantes Saint-Nazaire is now France's fastest-growing centre of digital employment.

INTELLIGENCE MEETS INNOVATION


The economic dynamism of Nantes Saint-Nazaire is powered by a number of centres of excellence, with great potential for future growth and job creation. The metro area's government-accredited competitiveness clusters are fine examples of this dynamism in action: the EMC2 cluster, dedicated to advanced production technologies, Atlanpole Biotherapies for healthcare/biotechnology, Images & Réseaux for information and telecom technologies, IdforCAR for smart vehicles and mobility, and of course the Brittany Atlantic Ocean Cluster for the maritime economy…

The metropolis is home to some 2,200 researchers and 200 laboratories spread across companies, universities and specialist schools, in a region with a particularly strong academic community, including over 50,000 students. Strong numbers which go some way to explaining the atmosphere of creativity and shared innovation which prevails in the metro area. Here in Nantes Saint-Nazaire we attach great importance to team spirit and collaboration, central tenets of our local identity. One great example of this spirit in action - and the only initiative of its kind in France - is Neopolia, a network of 200 sub-contracting firms who have joined forces to punch above their weight in the aeronautical, naval, rail and marine energy sectors. Atlantic 2.0 is a similar scheme, bringing together 250 businesses specialising in web services and digital innovation. Not to mention the Creative Quarter, a cluster dedicated to culture and the creative industries.

The western tip of the Île de Nantes has been transformed. The former naval shipyard has metamorphosed into a hub of culture and creativity. The large-scale public art project known as Les Machines de l'Ile provides an original showcase for Nantes' creative spirit... from atop a giant elephant! This is the home of the Creative Quarter, 15 hectares of facilities housing creative businesses, specialist schools and laboratories focusing on design, architecture, fashion, theatre and performance, digital innovation, visual arts and video games...

A DIVERSE ECONOMY


Diversity is one of the great strengths of Nantes Saint-Nazaire's thriving economy. Our naval industry helped nurture the development of renewable marine energies (RME), making the Loire estuary one of the capitals of this thriving sector. With 2 offshore wind farms set for construction off the coast of Saint-Nazaire and Noirmoutier, the region is home to production facilities, R&D teams and other industrial assets which you won't find anywhere else in France, specialising in all aspects of RME technology. Nantes Saint-Nazaire is also France's second largest aeronautical manufacturing centre, with two Airbus factories and 5200 direct employees, powering the development of dozens of sub-contractors with just as many workers.

Standing at the crossroads of three of France's biggest agricultural regions – Brittany, the Loire region and Poitou-Charentes – Nantes Saint-Nazaire is also a leading capital of the food and agriculture industry and one of France's leading centre of research into food and nutrition, as well as being the country's largest agricultural port and second-largest MIN (market of national importance). The metro area is also a hub of innovation in healthcare and biotechnology, with facilities of strategic importance such as the Arronax cyclotron, along with renowned research institutions and small businesses with global reputations, such as the world's leading bio-analysis specialist Eurofins.

"THE COOLEST PLACE TO GROW"


So many assets, so many attractions: it's almost too good to be true. But look at it objectively and you can't help but agree: Nantes Saint-Nazaire provides an environment which is uniquely propitious to the success of innovative businesses. Every year, Nantes Saint-Nazaire features near the top of lists ranking French cities by quality of life, in terms of both family life and business opportunities. As one digital entrepreneur put it, when asked to explain his decision to base his business on the Ile de Nantes, this is " The coolest place to grow!" A neat way to sum up the atmosphere of an ecosystem in which innovative businesses work together, rooted in a dynamic metropolitan area where the local authorities work hard to help businesses capitalise on opportunities. "The coolest place to grow" is also a fitting description of the superb quality of life here.

United in a metropolitan area of over 800,000 residents, the powerhouse of France's Atlantic coast, Nantes and Saint-Nazaire are beacons of what you might call the "art of living." The truly unique thing about these two port cities is that not only are they dynamic conglomerations with some of the highest rates of demographic growth in the country, but they are also eminently liveable urban centres offering a superb quality of life and a privileged environment. With an international airport offering flights to 65 destinations, Paris just 2 hours away by high-speed train (20+ trains every day) and the ocean within easy reach, every year thousands of new residents set up home in Nantes Saint-Nazaire.
 

THE NANTES SAINT-NAZAIRE WAY OF LIFE


In terms of the local economy and jobs, as well as quality of life for families, over the past decade Nantes has routinely topped the rankings of French cities. Everyone agrees on one thing: it's a great place to live. Because of the facilities and the environment, of course, but also thanks to the hospitality of local people. The metro area has always been a melting pot, resolutely open to the world.

Nantes Saint-Nazaire offers a huge array of housing options, from bustling city centres to village-like suburbs and small country towns within easy reach. The public transport service is excellent, with local trains, the tram system, high-frequency buses and more and more cyclists. Cultural life is buzzing right across the metropolitan area, making Nantes Saint-Nazaire fertile ground in which to grow your business while striking just the  right balance between family time, work, leisure and the environment…

A COMMITMENT TO CULTURE


Nantes, the sixth largest city in France and European Green Capital in 2013, has made a conscious decision to focus on culture to reinforce its image and appeal, in synergy with the city's entrepreneurial and industrial temperament. The many high-profile artistic events which take place throughout Nantes are an intrinsic part of the city's identity, and have played a major role in redefining the inner city: the 'Folle Journée de Nantes' for classical music lovers, the 'Voyage à Nantes' for a unique experience combining tourism with culture...

Saint-Nazaire is on the same wavelength. Without forsaking its industrial heritage, the city has reaffirmed its close connection to nature, with city centre beaches, the Regional Nature Reserve of Brière, the Guérande salt marshes and more. Saint-Nazaire also boasts a thriving cultural scene, with big events such as the Consonances festival of Baroque music and the Les Escales world music festival which draws 50,000 visitors each summer.

Introduction à Nantes Saint-Nazaire

NANTES SAINT-NAZAIRE, TERRE DES AUDACIEUX

À l'heure de la concurrence entre territoires, Nantes Saint-Nazaire fait mieux que tirer son épingle du jeu… Dynamisme économique, accessibilité, qualité de vie, environnement préservé, offre culturelle : sur toutes les dimensions de l'attractivité, Nantes Saint-Nazaire a des atouts maîtres.

Une métropole XXL


D'un côté un éléphant de bois et d'acier, haut de 12 mètres, sur lequel les touristes ont pris l'habitude de grimper pour découvrir Nantes. De l'autre la première sortie en mer du plus grand paquebot du monde fabriqué à Saint-Nazaire, qui a fait la Une de tous les médias internationaux. Deux images «XXL» qui résument le nouveau rayonnement de Nantes Saint-Nazaire. L'une pour dire le dynamisme d'un territoire urbain où les industries culturelles et créatives portent un fort potentiel de croissance. L'autre comme symbole des horizons dégagés de la construction navale dans l'estuaire de la Loire, et plus largement d'une industrie locale dopée à la haute technologie.

Ces images contrastées se retrouvent en effet dans les caractéristiques de l'économie locale. Nantes Saint-Nazaire a réussi à préserver un cœur battant industriel, avec des secteurs d'excellence mondiale… Ce qui n'a pas empêché son économie de fortement se « tertiairiser », notamment du côté du digital. Nantes Saint-Nazaire connaît aujourd'hui la 1ère croissance de l’emploi numérique en France.

Carrefour d'intelligences


Le dynamisme économique de Nantes Saint-Nazaire repose sur des filières d'excellence, qui affichent de fortes perspectives de développement et de création d'emplois. Les pôles de compétitivité labellisés par l'État en témoignent : le pôle EMC2, dédié aux technologies avancées de production, Atlanpole Biotherapies pour la santé/biotechnologies, Images et Réseaux pour les technologies de l’information et les télécoms, IdforCAR pour les véhicules et la mobilité, le Pôle Mer Bretagne Atlantique pour l'économie maritime…


On compte pas moins de 2.200 chercheurs dans la métropole, dans 200 laboratoires en entreprises, à l'université et dans les grandes écoles, sur un territoire dont la fibre universitaire s'affirme puissamment avec plus de 50 000 étudiants. Des chiffres élevés qui ne racontent pas totalement l'ambiance propice à la créativité et à l'innovation partagée qui règne ici. À Nantes Saint-Nazaire, on cultive un esprit d'équipe et un tempérament collaboratif qui forgent l'image de marque du territoire. C'est l'exemple de Neopolia, réseau unique en France de 200 entreprises sous-traitantes qui se sont unies pour gagner en force dans les secteurs de l'aéronautique, de la navale, des EMR ou du ferroviaire. C'est l'exemple aussi d'Atlantic 2.0 qui réunit 250 entreprises du web et de l’innovation numérique. C'est aussi l'exemple du Quartier de la Création, cluster dédié aux industries culturelles et créatives.


La pointe ouest de l’Île de Nantes se métamorphose. Les anciens chantiers navals ont laissé place à la culture et à la création. Sur le parvis des nefs, le projet artistique inédit des Machines de l’Île est comme la vitrine de l’inventivité nantaise… qui se découvre donc à dos d'éléphant géant ! C'est ici que naît le Quartier de la Création, qui regroupera sur 15 hectares des entreprises créatives, des grandes écoles et des laboratoires en design, architecture, mode, arts de la scène, création numérique,  arts visuels  ou jeux vidéo…


Une économie diversifiée


Le tissu économique de Nantes Saint-Nazaire est solide parce qu'il est diversifié. L'industrie navale a par exemple accueilli et anticipé l'émergence des énergies marines renouvelables (EMR), au point de faire de l'estuaire une place forte du secteur. Alors que 2 parcs éoliens offshore vont être construits au large de Saint-Nazaire et de Noirmoutier, se développent ici des usines de production, des structures de R&D et des grands équipements uniques en France, sur toutes les technologies EMR. En même temps, Nantes Saint-Nazaire accueille le deuxième pôle aéronautique de France, avec deux usines Airbus et 5 200 salariés qui entraînent le développement de dizaines de sous-traitants avec autant de collaborateurs.

Au carrefour de régions agricoles majeures en France – Bretagne, Pays de la Loire et Poitou-Charentes –  Nantes Saint-Nazaire est également une capitale de l'agroalimentaire, parmi les premiers pôles nationaux de recherche sur l’alimentation et la nutrition, avec un dense tissu industriel, le premier port de la filière et le deuxième MIN (marché d'intérêt national) en France. La métropole est aussi une référence en matière de santé et biotechnologie, avec des équipements structurants comme le cyclotron Arronax, des instituts de recherche reconnus et des PME innovantes au rayonnement mondial, à l'instar d'un Eurofins devenu leader mondial  de la bio-analyse.

« Le meilleur endroit où grandir »


Tant d'éclat, tant d'images fortes pourraient agacer, voire laisser incrédule. L'observateur le plus objectif doit pourtant se rendre à l'évidence : il existe à Nantes Saint-Nazaire une configuration très favorable à la réussite des entreprises. Nantes Saint-Nazaire figure chaque année aux premiers rangs des palmarès des villes où l'on vit bien, que l'on passe cette perspective au crible des besoins de la famille ou de ceux de l'entreprise. « The coolest place to grow», s'exclamait un entrepreneur du numérique pour expliquer son choix d'implantation sur l'île de Nantes. Une jolie formule pour expliciter  la réalité d'un écosystème composé d'entreprises qui travaillent ensemble, dans une métropole dynamique où les collectivités s'impliquent pour ouvrir les opportunités de marché. « Le meilleur endroit où grandir » : une formule qui résume aussi la qualité de vie qu'offre le territoire.

Formant ensemble la métropole locomotive du Grand Ouest Atlantique, avec plus de 800 000 habitants, Nantes et Saint-Nazaire proposent ce qu'on peut appeler un « art de vivre ». La singularité de ces deux villes portuaires est de s'affirmer à la fois comme des agglomérations dynamiques avec une croissance démographique parmi les plus fortes du pays, et comme des espaces urbains à taille humaine, qui offrent qualité de vie et environnement préservé. Avec un aéroport relié à 65 destinations internationales, à deux heures de TGV de Paris (plus de 20 trains quotidiens) et à quelques encablures de l'océan, ces atouts attirent d'ailleurs chaque année de nouveaux habitants.
 

L'art de vivre à Nantes Saint-Nazaire


Pour l'économie et l'emploi, pour la qualité de la vie des familles… Nantes Saint-Nazaire figure systématiquement depuis une dizaine d'année en tête des classements des villes de France. Car tous les observateurs en sont d'accord, il fait bon vivre ici. Cela tient aux équipements et à l'environnement bien sûr, mais aussi au sens de l'accueil des habitants. La métropole est depuis toujours une terre de brassage des populations, délibérément ouverte sur le monde.


Bénéficiant d'une large offre de logements bien répartie entre centres urbains actifs, quartiers à l'esprit « village » et communes rurales, traversée de flux de transports apaisés où les trains de proximité (TER), les tramway, les bus à forte fréquence ou encore le vélo progressent chaque jour, animée par une vie culturelle de qualité qui irrigue les quartiers, Nantes Saint-Nazaire est une métropole on l'on peut grandir dans un bel équilibre famille-travail-loisirs-environnement…

Le « plus » de la culture


Nantes, 6e ville de France, Capitale verte de l’Europe en 2013, a délibérément choisi la culture pour renforcer son image et son attractivité, à l'unisson de son tempérament entrepreneurial et industriel. C'est la « patte » nantaise que ces événements de grande qualité qui animent les quartiers de la ville et accompagnent la reconquête urbaine : la Folle journée de Nantes pour la musique classique, Le « Voyage à Nantes » pour une expérience unique qui mêle tourisme et culture…


Saint-Nazaire participe également à cette dynamique. Si elle reste une ville de tradition industrielle, elle sait désormais affirmer son lien puissant avec la nature, avec des plages vraiment en cœur de cité, le Parc Naturel Régional de Brière et le marais salant de Guérande à ses portes, une vie culturelle suractive, rehaussée d'événements comme Consonances pour la musique baroque ou Les Escales, festival des musiques du monde qui attire chaque été 50 000 spectateurs.